But it ended with a whole house…

With my husband fully onboard for the guest bedroom makeover and money burning a hole in our pockets, we started talking more in-depth about the details of our project and how we would really pull this one off.  Anyone who knows us, knows that when we do things it is usually full forced, fast paced and unrealistic, but that’s just who we are and it works for us.  Our discussions were done over time and actually started to delay the project a little.  My ideas and cash were just… sitting there…

So, we quit the procrastinating and finally made the decision that if one room was getting done, the whole house was!  I know what you’re thinking, are you nuts?  That’s what we got from a few people, but we know what we are capable of and were at least willing to try anything once.  It was just a coat of paint and some decor… right?

The journey began at Rona.  One amazing helper and 3 hours later we came out with gallons of paint, rollers, brushes, trays and everything else you need to paint a room, or an entire house in our case.  It was exhilarating and exhausting!

We got home and piled everything into the kitchen/dining area and we were ready to get started!  But, we did have to wait a few days before starting because we knew we were going to need enough time to do big sections at once and by big sections, I mean one floor at a time.

I had a previous committment that weekend that was going to delay the project longer and it really began to feel like it was never going to get started!

You can imagine my surprise when I arrived home late that Saturday night, exhausted from the day’s events and travelling, only to see our BROWN accent wall in the living room was now gone!

(Forgive my before picture, I hadn’t planned on having all before and after pictures for a blog 😉 But it gives you an idea of the colour.)

5-10-2013 3-13-59 PM

Mr. Champagne had cleared the area out and spent his whole Saturday priming… and priming the dark brown wall!

20130323_183726_resized

The difference was unbelievable!  It was SO much brighter in the room already and it was just an ugly few coats of primer.

This really started the project and gave new life to the DIY person stirring inside.  The next morning we poured ourselves a cup of coffee and opened the first gallon of paint.  I was nervous because the last time I attempted painting something things didn’t turn out so well.  The reality of the situation was that I was going to have to learn and learn fast, this certainly wasn’t a job for one person.  So, I jumped in with both feet and to my surprise I wasn’t half bad!  It may have taken us all day but we did complete the entire living room, dining room and Kitchen area.

Here is a sneak peak of the same wall shown above… bye bye brown wall!  Hello Grey Drizzle 🙂

20130324_130733_resized

As I continue writing about this crazy journey, only now do I truly realize how much work we put ourselves through.  I am not sure if that is a good or a bad thing just yet.

Stay tuned!

Lady Champagne xo

2 thoughts on “But it ended with a whole house…

Leave a Reply

